• Home
  • People
  • Chairs & Directors

Departments, Programs & Centers

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences is made up of more than 50 departments, programs and centers, each of which is overseen by a chair or director.

Department/Program Name Email Phone
African & African-American Studies Lang, Clarence celang@ku.edu 4-3054
American Studies Roediger, David droediger@ku.edu 4-4011
Anthropology Nagel, Joane nagel@ku.edu 4-4103
Applied Behavioral Science DiGennaro Reed, Florence fdreed@ku.edu 4-4840
Biology, Undergraduate  Burg, Gregory gburg@ku.edu 4-4143
Center for East Asian Studies Cheong, So-Min

somin@ku.edu

4-3849
Center for Global & International Studies O'Lear, Shannon

olear@ku.edu

4-1120
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Caminero-Santangelo, Marta camsan@ku.edu 4-4213
Center for Research Methods & Data Analysis Johnson, Paul pauljohn@ku.edu 4-3353
Center for Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Chernetsky, Vitaly

vchernetsky@ku.edu

4-4236
Center for STEM Learning Case, Steven B. stcase@ku.edu 4-2379
Chemistry Laird, Brian

blaird@ku.edu

4-4670
Child Language Program Rice, Mabel mabel@ku.edu 4-4570
Classics Welch, Tara tswelch@ku.edu 4-3153
Clinical Child Psychology Steele, Ric rsteele@ku.edu 4-4226
Communication Studies Childers, Jay jaychilders@ku.edu 4-3633
Computational Biology Vakser, Ilya vakser@ku.edu 4-1057
Dance Heffner Hayes, Michelle mhayes@ku.edu 4-4264
East Asian Languages & Cultures Childs, Maggie mgchilds@ku.edu 4-3100
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Haufler, Chris vulgare@ku.edu 4-5887
Economics Stanislavova, Milena stanis@ku.edu 4-3501
English Elliot, Dorice delliott@ku.edu 4-4520
Environmental Studies Fowle, David fowle@ku.edu 4-8902
Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center Perkins, Jonathan jperkins@ku.edu 4-4759
European Studies Vanchena, Lorie vanchena@ku.edu 4-1120
Film & Media Studies Baskett, Michael eiga@ku.edu 4-1340
French & Italian Hayes, Bruce

bhayes@ku.edu

4-4056

Geography & Atmospheric Science

Brunsell, Nathaniel brunsell@ku.edu 4-5143
Geology Roberts, Jennifer jaroberts@ku.edu 4-4974
Germanic Languages & Literatures Vyatkina, Nina Vyatkina@ku.edu 4-4803
Gerontology Baker-Thomas, Tamara tbaker-thomas@ku.edu 4-0758
Global and International Studies Wuthrich, F. Michael mwuthrich@ku.edu 4-0508
History Levin, Eve evelevin@ku.edu 4-3569
History of Art Cateforis, David decat@ku.edu 4-4713
Honors Young, Bryan cbyoung@ku.edu 4-4225
Humanities Versteeg, Margaret   4-3011
Indigenous Studies Fitzgerald, Stephanie

sfitzger@ku.edu

4-2660
Institute for Leadership Studies Banwart, Mary mbanwart@ku.edu 4-4225
Jewish Studies Younger, John jyounger@ku.edu 4-4664
Kansas African Studies Center MacGonagle, Elizabeth macgonag@ku.edu 4-3745
Linguistics Sereno, Joan

sereno@ku.edu

4-3450
Mathematics  Huang, Weizhang wzhuang@ku.edu 4-3651
Molecular Biosciences Egan, Susan sme@ku.edu 4-4631
Museum Studies Welsh, Peter phwelsh@ku.edu 4-4543
Philosophy Dorsey, Dale ddorsey@ku.edu 4-3976
Physics & Astronomy Feldman, Hume feldman@ku.edu  4-4626
Political Science Haider-Markel, Donald dhmarkel@ku.edu 4-3523
Psychology Vitevitch, Mike

mvitevit@ku.edu

4-4131
Religious Studies Zogry, Michael mzogry@ku.edu 4-4341
School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures Jewers, Caroline cjewers@ku.edu 4-9250
School of Public Affairs & Administration O'Leary, Rosemary oleary@ku.edu 4-3527
Slavic Languages & Literatures Dickey, Stephen smd@ku.edu 4-3313
Sociology Staples, Bill

staples@ku.edu

 

4-4111
Spanish & Portuguese Arias, Santa sarias@ku.edu 4-3851
Speech-Language-Hearing Storkel, Holly hstorkel@ku.edu 4-0630
Theatre Persley, Nicole Hodges hodgespersley@ku.edu 4-3511
Visual Art Jordan, Mary Anne majordan@ku.edu 4-4042
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Syrett, Nicholas   4-2310
Department Undergraduate Coordinator Email Phone
American Studies Flores, Ruben flores@ku.edu 4-2303
African & African-American Studies Lang, Clarence celang@ku.edu 4-5569
Anthropology Gray, Sandra sjgray@ku.edu 4-2646
Applied Behavioral Science Neidert, Pam pneidert@ku.edu 4-0771
Applied Behavioral Science Dozier, Claudia cdozier@ku.edu 4-0526
Biology, Undergraduate  Burg, Gregory gburg@ku.edu 4-4143
Center for Global & International Studies Wuthrich, Mike mwuthrich@ku.edu 4 -1120
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Swanson, Danika

danika_swanson@ku.edu

4-3899
Chemistry Benson, Dave drb@ku.edu 4-4090
Classics Gordon ,Pamela pgordon@ku.edu 4 2396
Communication Studies Zhang, Yan Bing ybzhang@ku.edu 4-9678
Dance Heffner Hayes, Michelle mhayes@ku.edu 4-1098
East Asian Languages & Culture Gerbert, Elaine gerbert@ku.edu 4 9127
Economics Staihr, Brian bstaihr@ku.edu 4-2848
English Canady, Darren canady@ku.edu 4-4520
Environmental Studies Brown, Chris jcbrown2@ku.edu 4-8992
Film & Media Studies Jacobson, Matt mattjaco@ku.edu 4-1348
French Booker, Tom tbooker@ku.edu 4-9075
Geography & Atmospheric Sciecnes Xingong Li  lixi@ku.edu 4-5545
Geology Stearns, Leigh stearns@ku.edu 4-4204
Germanic Languages Vanchena, Lorie vanchena@ku.edu 4-9174
History Rath, Eric erath@ku.edu 4-9470
History of Art Cateforis, David dcat@ku.edu 4 4713
Humanities Zimdars-Swartz, Sandra szimdars@ku.edu 4-3011
Jewish Studies Younger, John jyounger@ku.edu 4-2311
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Swanson, Danika danika_swanson@ku.edu 4-3899
Institute for Leadership Studies Banwart, Mary mbanwart@ku.edu 4-5681
Linguistics Minai, Utkao minai@ku.edu 4-1559
Math Bayer, Margaret bayer@ku.edu 4-3651
Molecular Biosciences Hefty, Scott pshefty@ku.edu 4-5392
Philosophy Frykholm. Erin frykholm@ku.edu 4-2339
Physics & Astronomy Fischer, Chris shark@ku.edu  4-4579
Political Science Doan, Alesha adoan@ku.edu 4-9122
Psychology Vitevitch, Mike mvitevit@ku.edu 4-9312
Religious Studies Stainton, Hamsa h208s676@ku.edu 4-5568
Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Redford, Bart bredford@ku.edu 4-4248
School of Public Affairs & Administration Portillo, Shannon sportillo@ku.edu 4-1887
Slavic Languages & Literatures Perelmutter, Renee rperel@ku.edu 4-2356
Sociology Donovan, Brian bdonovan@ku.edu 4-9422
Spanish & Portuguese Rivera, Isidro J. ijrivera@ku.edu 4-0297
Speech-Language-Hearing Brady, Nancy nbrady@ku.edu 4-0762
Theatre Klein, Jeanne kleinj@ku.edu 4-5576
Visual Arts Velasco, Maria mvelasco@ku.edu 4-5527
Women, Gender & Sexuaity Studies Batza, Katie batza@ku.edu 4-9094
Department Graduate Studies Director Email Phone
African & African-American Studies Shawn Alexander slalexan@ku.edu 4-5044
American Studies Ben Chappell bchap@ku.edu 4-2236
Anthropology Bart Dean bdean@ku.edu 4-2648
Applied Behavioral Science Edward K. Morris ekm@ku.edu 4-0519
Center for East Asian Studies Ayako Mizumura mizu@ku.edu; 4-1478
Center for Global & International Studies Mike Wuthrich mwuthrich@ku.edu; 4-0508
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Cécile Accilien

cecileaccilien@ku.edu

4-1853
Chemistry Jon Tunge tunge@ku.edu 4-4136
Child Language Lesa Hoffman lesa@ku.edu 4-4570
Classics Tony Corbeill corbeill@ku.edu 4-2393
Clinical Child Psychology Ric Steele rsteele@ku.edu 4-0550
Communication Studies (Lawr) Robert Rowland rrowland@ku.edu 4-9868
Communication Studies (Edw) Angela Gist angela.gist@ku.edu 4-9874
Computational Biology Eric Deeds deeds@ku.edu 4-4683
East Asian Languages & Cultures Keith McMahon kmcmahon@ku.edu 4-9126
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Paulyn Cartwright pcart@ku.edu 4-4432
Economics Tarun Sabarwal sabarwal@ku.edu 4-2847
English Joe Harrington jharring@ku.edu 4-2575
Environmental Studies Mark Jakubauskas mjakub@ku.edu 4-1508
Film & Media Studies Robert Hurst hurstr@ku.edu 4-1397
French & Italian Van Kelly vkelly@ku.edu 4-9028
Genetics Erik Lundquist erikl@ku.edu 4-5853
Geography & Atmospheric Sciences David Mechem dmechem@ku.edu 4-5707
Geology Gwen Macpherson glmac@ku.edu 4-2742
Germanic Languages & Literatures William Keel wkeel@ku.edu 4-4657
Gerontology David Ekerdt dekerdt@ku.edu 4-4130
History Sheyda Jahanbani sfaj@ku.edu 4-9459
History of Art John Pultz jpultz@ku.edu 4-4713
Indigenous Studies Stephanie Fitzgerald sfitzger@ku.edu 4-2586
Linguistics Alison Gabriele gabriele@ku.edu 4-1014
Mathematics Milena Stanislavova stanis@ku.edu 4-4369
Molecular Biosciences Stuart MacDonald sjmac@ku.edu; 4-5362
Museum Studies Peter Welsh phwelsh@ku.edu 4-5702
Philosophy Dale Dorsey ddorsey@ku.edu 4-2139
Physics & Astronomy Gregory Rudnick grudnick@ku.edu 4-4099
Political Science Mark Joslyn mjozz@ku.edu 4-9046
Psychology Monica Biernat biernat@ku.edu 4-9815
Public Affairs & Administration (SPAA - Masters) Reggie Robinson rlrobinson@ku.edu 4-3527
Public Affairs & Administration (SPAA) - PhD Holly Goerdel hgoerdel@ku.edu  
Religious Studies Molly Zahn mzahn@ku.edu 4-4609
Russian, East European & Eurasian, Center Alexander Diener diener@ku.edu 4-3040
Slavic Languages & Literatures Ani Kokobobo akokobobo@ku.edu 4-2346
Sociology ChangHawn Kim chikim@ku.edu 4-9426
Spanish & Portuguese Jorge Perez jorgep@ku.edu 4-1131
Speech-Language-Hearing-LAWRENCE CAMPUS Kris Pedersen kpedersen@ku.edu 4-0638
Speech-Language-Hearing-LAWRENCE CAMPUS Holly Storkel hstorkel@ku.edu 4-0639
Theatre  Jane Barnette

j611b784@ku.edu

4-3511
Visual Art Norman Akers normanakers2@ku.edu 4-3231
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Kim Warren kwarren@ku.edu 4-9451

 


Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times